Carly Rae Jepsen - Kiss Album Review

Kiss is the debut U.S. album by Canadian pop sensation Carly Rae Jepsen, released on September 14, 2012 through 604, Schoolboy, and Interscope Records.

The Canadian singer and songwriter wrote or co-wrote songs on the album, collaborating with songwriters and producers Max Martin, Dallas Austin, LMFAO’s Redfoo, Toby Gad, Marianas Trench singer Josh Ramsay and Matthew Koma.

Call Me Maybe was one of the summer’s big songs, very catchy and highly addictive from the very first listen. In the United States, the track reached number one on the Billboard Hot 100 and the Pop Songs chart and spent nine consecutive weeks at the top of the chart.

Jepsen’s single Good Time, a duet with Owl City, has climbed to No. 3 on the Pop Chart, No. 5 on the iTunes Singles chart, and No. 13 on Billboard’s Hot 100.

Justin Bieber signed Carly up to his Schoolboy Records label, with manager Scooter Braun, after hearing her eventual breakthrough track ‘Call Me Maybe’ ahead of its release.
The two artists have also collaborated on the track “Beautiful“.
Recently, Jepsen hit the road with Justin Bieber as a very special guest on the multi-platinum Pop/R&B star’s 2012 headlining tour of North America.

Jepsen’s second album and first since becoming a superstar, is the sound of an artist relentlessly trying to prove her staying power and transform the “magic in a bottle” into a delectable cocktail. The result is an album that comes on a bit strong, but has the pop pedigree to avoid any major missteps.

Carly Rae Jepsen - Kiss Album Cover

Carly Rae Jepsen - Kiss Track Listing

1. “Tiny Little Bows” - 3:21
2. “This Kiss” - 3:48
3. “Call Me Maybe” - 3:14
4. “Curiosity” - 3:33
5. “Good Time” (with Owl City) - 3:26
6. “More Than a Memory” - 4:02
7. “Turn Me Up” - 3:42
8. “Hurt So Good” - 3:08
9. “Beautiful” (featuring Justin Bieber) - 3:17
10. “Tonight I’m Getting Over You” - 3:39
11. “Guitar String / Wedding Ring” - 3:26
12. “Your Heart Is a Muscle” - 3:48

Deluxe edition bonus tracks
13. “Drive” - 2:59
14. “Wrong Feels So Right” - 4:17
15. “Sweetie” - 3:38

iTunes bonus track
16. “Almost Said It” - 2:27

Album Information

Released September 14, 2012
Recorded 2011-12
Genre Dance, electropop, bubblegum pop, synthpop, disco
Length 42:24
Label 604, Schoolboy, Interscope
Producer Max Martin, Josh Ramsay, Sachira Pr0Mode, Matthew Koma, Josh Abraham, Dallas Austin, Oliver Goldstein, Cory Enemy

Leave a Reply