Coldplay - Viva La Vida Or Death and All His Friends Album Review

Viva La Vida Or Death and All His Friends by Coldplay, Album Review

Viva la Vida or Death and All His Friends‘ (a.k.a. Viva la Vida), Coldplay’s fourth studio album, sees the band emerge from the success of 2005’s X&Y with the same hunger that has gained them global success ever since 2000’s Parachutes.

Viva la Vida‘ (Spanish for Long Live Life or Live the life) takes its name from a painting by 20th century Mexican artist Frida Kahlo.
The album’s artwork features the painting Liberty Leading the People (La Liberte guidant le peuple) by French painter Eugene Delacroix, commemorating the July Revolution of 1830.

Coldplay Viva La Vida Album Cover
Coldplay - Viva La Vida Or Death and All His Friends Album Cover

Coldplay - Viva La Vida Or Death and All His Friends Track Listing

1. “Life in Technicolor” – 2:29
2. “Cemeteries of London” – 3:21
3. “Lost!” – 3:55
4. “42″ – 3:57
5. “Lovers in Japan”/”Reign of Love” – 6:51 ( Lovers in Japan” – 3:56, “Reign of Love” – 2:55)
6. “Yes” – 7:06 ( “Yes” – 4:04, “Chinese Sleep Chant” – 3:02 (hidden track) )
7. “Viva la Vida” – 4:01
8. “Violet Hill” – 3:42
9. “Strawberry Swing” – 4:09
10. “Death and All His Friends” – 6:18 (”Death and All His Friends” – 3:32, “The Escapist” – 2:46 (hidden track) )

Bonus tracks:

11. “Lost?” – 3:39 (Japan and iTunes bonus track)
12. “Lovers in Japan (Acoustic Version)” – 3:44 (iTunes pre-order only)

All songs written by Berryman/Buckland/Champion/Martin except “Life in Technicolor” and “The Escapist” by Berryman/Buckland/Champion/Martin/Hopkins.

Lead single “Violet Hill” contains trademark catchy piano hooks, along with a heavy guitar edge.

Viva La Vida definitely makes some departures from the band’s usual formula, which happens to be one of the most commercially successful rock-pop blueprints of recent years. The plangent chords, emotive melodies, stadium-rock rhythms and universal lyrical concerns remain, but Martin and co. have gone out on several limbs here, incorporating instrumental tracks (”Life In Technicolour”), using subtle North African and Latin elements (”Yes”, “Strawberry Swing”), and overhauling previously strict verse-chorus-verse structures in favour of slightly more avant arrangements. The old Coldplay still shine through (see tracks like “Violet Hill” and the title song) but even their classic sound feels more muscular and confident. The band’s new flourishes, cosmetic and self-conscious as they may be, are enough to make Viva La Vida a welcome break from the old routine.
Danny McKenna

Coldplay moves away from their usual radio-friendly soaring anthems, but still score big with their fourth studio album.
Coldplay clearly decided they wanted to create an album, not just four or five singles and then fillers. It is a change of direction, but at the same time, they haven’t lost their sound completely.
It just sounds like a group who want to give their songs a chance to breath and grow, and from a dire hard ‘X&Y’ fan, i think they have done that, and convinced me at least that this is their most complete album to date.

Coldplay - Viva La Vida Song Information

Released 12 June 2008 (2008-06-12)
Recorded 2007
Genre Alternative rock
Length 45:53
Label Parlophone, Capitol
Producer Markus Dravs, Brian Eno, Rik Simpson, Jon Hopkins

sources and

2 Responses to “Coldplay - Viva La Vida Or Death and All His Friends Album Review”

  1. Mo Says:

    Cold Play is just awesome.

  2. sanda Says:

    i absoultley adore coldplay and their new album!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!excellent work!!!!!!!!!:-D

Leave a Reply