Death Cab for Cutie - Narrow Stairs Album Review

Narrow Stairs by Death Cab for Cutie, Album Review

Narrow Stairs” is the seventh studio album by rock band Death Cab for Cutie.

Death Cab For Cutie follow up the success of 2005’s ‘Plans’with ‘Narrow Stairs’, (which sold over 30,000 copies), an album that is often in stark contrast to its predecessor. While there are still the familiar upbeat guitar riffs and lazy summer day keyboards, the lyrics tend to tell stories of people with broken hearts and stalkers who demand more attention, as heard on single ‘I Will Possess Your Heart’.
This is one of the Death Cab’s finest moments to date, essential for old fans and perfect for anyone discovering them for the first time.

Death Cab for Cutie Narrow Stairs Album Cover

Death Cab for Cutie - Narrow Stairs Track Listing

1. “Bixby Canyon Bridge” (Gibbard) – 5:15
2. “I Will Possess Your Heart” (Gibbard, Harmer, McGerr, Walla) – 8:35
3. “No Sunlight” (Gibbard, Walla) – 2:40
4. “Cath…” (Gibbard) – 3:50
5. “Talking Bird” (Gibbard) – 3:23
6. “You Can Do Better Than Me” (Gibbard) – 1:59
7. “Grapevine Fires” (Gibbard, Harmer, McGerr) – 4:09
8. “Your New Twin Sized Bed” (Gibbard, Harmer) – 3:06
9. “Long Division” (Gibbard, Harmer, Walla) – 3:50
10. “Pity and Fear” (Gibbard) – 4:21
11. “The Ice Is Getting Thinner” (Gibbard, Walla) – 3:45

The first single of the album “I Will Possess Your Heart”, was released on March 18, 2008.

Death Cab for Cutie are back in fighting form, proving that they have the same musical diversity as the likes of Radiohead or R.E.M. The pure talent, both instrumentally and lyrically is as clear as the effort and dedication noticeably put into each track.

Death Cab for Cutie - Narrow Stairs Album Information

Released in United Kingdom on May 12, 2008 and in United States on May 13, 2008
Recorded Seattle
Genre Indie rock, indie pop
Length 44:50
Label Atlantic
Producer Chris Walla

source and

Leave a Reply