Dear visitor, Music Lovers Group is now part of Muzikum. Please read the announcement here

Green Day - 21st Century Breakdown Album Review

21st Century Breakdown is the eighth studio album by the American punk rock band Green Day. This will be Green Day’s first album to be produced by renowned producer and Garbage member Butch Vig, though he has had minor production jobs in other Green Day albums such as Dookie.
The album is the best-selling trio’s first studio album since 2004’s two-time Grammy Award-winning Punk Rock opera American Idiot, which debuted at #1 on the Billboard chart, spawned five hit singles, and went on to sell more than 12 million copies worldwide.

This new album continues in a similar vein, with an overarching concept about the disintegration of American culture. Musically it takes in a broad spectrum of influences, from Springsteen-style blue-collar rock to the 70s pomp of Queen, which has also influenced other punk acts like My Chemical Romance.

’21st Century Breakdown’ is divided into three acts: “Heroes and Cons,” “Charlatans and Saints,” and “Horseshoes and Handgrenades,” and follows a young couple, Christian and Gloria, through the mess and promise of the century so far.” Musically, the album continues the rock opera style of American Idiot.

Green Day - 21st Century Breakdown Album Cover

Green Day - 21st Century Breakdown Track Listing

1. “Song of the Century”

Act I: Heroes and Cons

2. “21st Century Breakdown” - 5:08
3. “Know Your Enemy” - 3:12
4. “┬íViva la Gloria!”
5. “Before the Lobotomy” - 4:37
6. “Christian’s Inferno”
7. “Last Night on Earth”

Act II: Charlatans and Saints

8. “East Jesus Nowhere” - 4:34
9. “Peacemaker”
10. “Last of the American Girls”
11. “Murder City”
12. “┬┐Viva La Gloria? (Little Girl)”
13. “Restless Heart Syndrome” - 4:04

Act III: Horseshoes and Handgrenades

14. “Horseshoes and Handgrenades”
15. “The Static Age”
16. “21 Guns” - 5:05
17. “American Eulogy” - 4:25
18. “See the Light”

The first single, “Know Your Enemy“, was released on April 16; the music video for the song was premiered internationally on April 24th on the MTV UK website.

The 21st Century Breakdown World Tour will be taking place in 2009 and 2010 in support of their album.

Album Information

Released May 15, 2009
Recorded 2008-2009, at Ocean Way Recording, Hollywood, California and Studio 880, Oakland
Genre Punk rock, alternative rock, pop punk
Length 74:41
Label Reprise
Producer Butch Vig, Green Day

2 Responses to “Green Day - 21st Century Breakdown Album Review”

  1. Travis Adkins Says:

    Musically, I love this album. I like it better than American Idiot. It isn’t their old stuff, but maybe that’s why I like it. It was kinda shocking. I like it because you can tell that they took their time with it and didn’t rush it. I feel like so much music is just writing, thrown together, and then recorded. You can tell they felt this one out. Great record! Way to Go! 4 1/2 stars.

  2. Andy Says:

    I have listened to the whole thing once and am ready to delve into it really closely. From the first spin it’s obvious that they have maintained the green day sound. But they have evolved to keep that punch from getting stale in the same punky two-minute song bursts. The product is a newer take on the old-not the old; not better, not worse. Its different but its still great.

Leave a Reply