Jay-Z - The Blueprint 3 Album Review

The Blueprint 3 is the eleventh studio album by American hip hop rapper Jay-Z, released September 8, 2009 in the United States. Its UK and international release will follow on September 14.

It is the final installment in The Blueprint trilogy, preceded by the critically acclaimed “The Blueprint” (2001) and its follow-up “The Blueprint²: The Gift & The Curse” (2002).

The album is recorded in Hawaii and it’s produced primarily by Kanye West and features contributions from Rihanna, Drake, Young Jeezy, Swizz Beatz, Alicia Keys and UK indie-pop band Mr. Hudson.

Six years and three albums since his supposed retirement from the music business comes this eleventh studio effort from multi-media mogul Shawn “Jigga” Carter. Like the other two ‘Blueprint’ albums, it has a modern, pop-oriented feel. Beat, lyrics, substance what more can you ask for.

jay z the blueprint 3 album cover

Jay-Z - The Blueprint 3 track Listing

1. “What We Talkin’ About” featuring Luke Steele - 4:03
2. “Thank You” - 4:10
3. “D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune)” - 4:15
4. “Run This Town” featuring Rihanna and Kanye West - 4:27
5. “Empire State of Mind” featuring Alicia Keys - 4:36
6. “Real as It Gets” featuring Young Jeezy - 4:12
7. “On to the Next One” featuring Swizz Beatz - 4:17
8. “Off That” featuring Drake - 4:06
9. “A Star Is Born” featuring J. Cole - 3:48
10. “Venus vs. Mars” - 3:10
11. “Already Home” - 4:29
12. “Hate” featuring Kanye West - 2:31
13. “Reminder” - 4:18
14. “So Ambitious” featuring Pharrell - 4:12
15. “Young Forever” featuring Mr Hudson - 4:14

BLUEPRINT III is a Roc Nation / Live Nation release distributed through Atlantic Records. The album’s first single “D.O.A. (Death of Auto-Tune)” has exploded since it’s June release. Performed live on the BET Awards on June 28th, the song’s video premiered immediately following the show to great acclaim.
Second single “Run This Town” with Rihanna and Kanye West was just serviced to radio.

Since 1995, Jay-Z has dominated the rap industry and set the trends for a generation. Over his career, he has sold more than 40 million albums and sold out arenas worldwide. Winner of 7 Grammy Awards, his 10 No. 1 albums tie him with Elvis Presley and place him behind only The Beatles for the most of all-time. He is the founder and chairman of Rocawear, co-owner of the NJ Nets, 40/40 Sports Clubs and co-owner of the skin care and beauty line Carol’s Daughter. Jay-Z became the first non-athlete to enter into a major footwear coventure with his S. Carter line for Reebok and in addition, continues his philanthropic work through his Water For LIfe initiative and Shawn Carter Scholarship Foundation.
In 2008, JAY-Z entered into a partnership with Live Nation forming Roc Nation. This groundbreaking new division, headed by Shawn “JAY-Z” Carter creates unique management, publishing and distribution deals with artists and songwriters.

Album Information

Released September 8, 2009
Recorded 2008–2009
Genre Hip hop
Length 60:47
Label Roc Nation, Atlantic
Producer Jay-Z (exec.), Kanye West, No I.D., Al Shux, The Inkredibles, Timbaland, Swizz Beatz, The Neptunes, Jermone “Jroc” Harmon, Jeff Bhasker

Leave a Reply