Maroon 5 - Hands All Over Album Review

Hands All Over is the third studio album by American pop-rock band Maroon 5. The album was recorded in Switzerland, where the band joined forces with legendary record producer Robert “Mutt” Lange (AC/DC, Foreigner, The Cars). It was released by A&M/Octone on September 21, 2010.
The album, a killer hybrid of rock, pop, funk, and R&B, showcases the band’s considerable strengths: buoyant, unforgettable melodies, sleek, stylish grooves, charged lyrics about turbulent relationships, and crisp, dynamic performances.

Adam Levine’s melodic vocals carry on through all the songs and James Valentine’s funky guitar riffs hypnotise you throughout the album. Every song is fun to listen to and, no, Maroon 5 has not lost that feel good, get groovy, let’s dance on the coffee table feel. They still have that for sure.

Maroon 5 - Hands All Over Album Cover

Maroon 5 - Hands All Over Album Cover

Maroon 5 - Hands All Over Track Listing

1. “Misery” - 3:36
2. “Give a Little More” - 3:00
3. “Stutter” - 3:16
4. “Don’t Know Nothing” - 3:19
5. “Never Gonna Leave This Bed” - 3:16
6. “I Can’t Lie” - 3:31
7. “Hands All Over” - 3:12
8. “How” - 3:36
9. “Get Back in My Life” - 3:37
10. “Just a Feeling” - 3:46
11. “Runaway” - 3:01
12. “Out of Goodbyes” (with Lady Antebellum) - 3:16

iTunes & Deluxe Edition bonus tracks

13. “Last Chance” (Adam Levine, Sam Farrar) - 3:10
14. “No Curtain Call” (Levine, Jesse Carmichael, Harmony David Samuels) - 3:44
15. “Never Gonna Leave This Bed” (Acoustic version) - 3:22
16. “Misery” (Acoustic version) - 3:46
17. “If I Ain’t Got You” (Live) - 4:00
18. “The Air That I Breathe” (Levine, James Valentine, Tommy King) - 4:17
19. “Last Chance” (Live) - 3:12

The lead single to be taken off the album is “Misery“, it was released on June 22, 2010. The music video for the single was directed by Joseph Kahn. The song reached number 17 on the Billboard Hot 100.
The second single is “Give a Little More“, and was released on August 17, 2010. The music video was directed by Paul Hunter.

Band member Jesse Carmichael comments on the new album, “Mutt really helped us play to the best of our ability. And it drove us to be bigger and better than ever. Everything he does is huge.” Huge is a great way to describe Hands All Over, starting with the hard-rocking title track that is heavier than anything Maroon 5 has ever done. Says Valentine, “It doesn’t sound like anything we’ve ever done.” Another stylistic departure for the band is “Out of Goodbyes,” a stunning country ballad that features musical and vocal contributions from Nashville chart-toppers Lady Antebellum. “We’ve always loved country music”, Levine says, “and they brought that necessary twang to it with the lap steels, ambient guitar, and Hilary Scott’s pretty voice. Other highlights include the deeply groovy “Don’t Know Much About That,” the propulsive “Stutter” (”a great showcase for Adam’s voice,” notes Valentine), and “Misery,” which will thrill long-time Maroon 5 fans with its funky guitars and high-stepping melody. Be sure to get your hands all over this unbelievable album.

If you are a fan of Maroon 5 you will be happy to have this refreshing album to add to your collection.

Album Information

Released September 15, 2010
Recorded 2008–2010
Genre Pop, pop rock
Length 40:26
Label A&M/Octone
Producer Robert John “Mutt” Lange

Leave a Reply