Maroon 5 - Overexposed Album Review

Maroon 5’s latest album, Overexposed, is the result of the band’s sharp wit and impressive ability of reinventing themselves over and over again without making a compromise in quality. A staple of their live show uniqueness, this is their fourth studio album, an album that makes you smile no matter what.

An Album That Makes You Smile

Regardless of where you are when you listen this twelve-track album, at the wheel, at home, on the beach, at a nightclub, strolling with girlfriend in the park, Overexposed will make you and your friends smile not because it’s funny. Far from being a joke, the album will make you feel proud of the band you love, will give you a new perspective on life in general and it will make you forget of all your troubles. Listening to this album, you’ll feel that life’s worth living, that the sun has finally rose on your street and that the money you have spent on Overexposed were too little for the high quality of sound. A certain high energy comes across in listening to the album, so every song, every lyric, every guitar riff and every beat sink their teeth into you somehow. If you are not a Maroon 5 fan, you will certainly become one.

Furthermore, one cannot say the album has ups and lows. There is no such thing in Overexposed, as every track is a strong point. “The Man Who Never Lied” is a track that you will be listening repeatedly, though you will sense certain heartbreak underneath the pop sound. Amongst memorable choruses, Levine sings, “I was the man who never lied… but I couldn’t break your heart like you did yesterday.”

One More Night” opens the album in an upbeat, faintly reggae-tinged tone and it seems to be about a bad influence Adam Levine cannot get away from, an addiction to a mysterious woman: “I cross my heart and I hope to die that I’ll only stay with you one more night.”

On one of the several tracks that Levine co-produced himself, “Daylight” reveals the band’s weakness for soft rock. Billboard magazine describes the track as “a bittersweet tale that builds momentum towards one of the album’s most up-tempo songs that follows it; listen closely and you might hear a Chris Martin homage in Levine’s ‘whoa-oh’s’.”

Lucky Strike” seems more like an open bar with guitar riffs, a pure rock song that remembers us about the band’s ability to shift from simple pop to heart beating rock sounds, whilst “Love Somebody” is the standing proof that Overexposed is Maroon 5’s most pop-friendly yet. “Fortune Teller,” “Ladykiller,” “Sad” or “Beautiful Goodbye” all these amazing tracks provide unexpected moments and pillar that there is not one significant flaw in the album.

Of course, if you put your glasses on, you will notice a few things that don’t fit, such as the background vocals on “Tickets” and the irritating nonsensical sounds in the opening and background of “Wipe Your Eyes.” But they are needles in the grass, as the album as a whole is more than great and every piece of these tracks will be stuck in your head for a long time. “Payphone” for instance, enlists the help of “Black and Yellow” rapper Wiz Khalifa and reminds us of “She Will Be Loved”. Last year’s inescapable “Moves Like Jagger” featuring Christina Aguilera appears as a bonus track, reinforcing the album’s promise to mark an important point in the band’s highly-successful musical career.

Maroon 5 - Overexposed Album Cover
Maroon 5 - Overexposed Album Cover

Maroon 5 - Overexposed Track Listing

1. “One More Night” - 3:39
2. “Payphone” (featuring Wiz Khalifa) - 3:51
3. “Daylight” - 3:45
4. “Lucky Strike” - 3:05
5. “The Man Who Never Lied” - 3:25
6. “Love Somebody” - 3:49
7. “Ladykiller” - 2:44
8. “Fortune Teller” - 3:23
9. “Sad” - 3:14
10. “Tickets” - 3:29
11. “Doin’ Dirt” - 3:31
12. “Beautiful Goodbye” - 4:15

Deluxe edition bonus tracks
13. “Wipe Your Eyes” - 3:34
14. “Wasted Years” - 3:33
15. “Kiss” - 7:00

US iTunes Store bonus tracks
16. “One More Night” (Sticky K. Remix) - 3:57
17. “Payphone” (featuring Wiz Khalifa) (The Others Remix) (Pre-order only) - 4:06

Album Information

Released June 26, 2012
Recorded 2011-2012; Los Angeles, CA
Genre Pop, funk rock, dance-pop, electropop
Length 42:19 (standard edition), 55:26 (deluxe edition)
Label A&M/Octone
Producer Benny Blanco, Sam Farrar, Shawn Kang, D.J. Kyriakides, Mason “MdL” Levy, Adam Levine, Maroon 5, Max Martin (also exec.), Noah “Mailbox” Passovoy, Matthew Rappold, J.R. Rotem, Sam Spiegel, Shellback, Ryan Tedder, James Valentine, Brian “Sweetwesty” West, Noel Zancanella, Marius Moga

Leave a Reply