Michael Jackson - Michael Album Review

Michael is a posthumous compilation album by Michael Jackson, which was released in the United States by Epic Records on December 14, 2010.
“Michael” is the first release in nine years of new material by one of music’s most beloved icons whose artistry continues to touch new generations of fans. The album contains ten tracks, produced by an esteemed group of producers along with Michael Jackson. While primarily focused on songs that Michael worked on recently, there are also earlier compelling tracks.
The album features guest performances by Akon, 50 Cent, and Lenny Kravitz.

Although this album doesn’t have the final touches that Michael would have given it, it is none the less worth every penny - the love from both Michael’s heart and soul are within every song and the messages are very clear.
The “Michael” album is a perfect collection of songs from all genres. Whatever you love best about Michael Jacksons music, you will find a song to suit from this album. Songs that will make you dance, love, smile, even cry. The music is uplifting, the lyrics very positive.

The cover art is a painted collage of Michael’s life from “Off The Wall” including scenes from videos like “Thriller” and “Smooth Criminal”. Musically, the album also recalls the eighties. If you liked songs like “Smooth Criminal”, “Another Part Of Me” and “PYT”, songs with a funky Pop sound, you’ll love this.

Michael Jackson - Michael Album Cover
Michael Jackson - Michael Album Cover

Michael Jackson - Michael Track Listing

1. “Hold My Hand” (featuring Akon) - 3:32
2. “Hollywood Tonight” - 4:30
3. “Keep Your Head Up” - 4:49
4. “(I Like) The Way You Love Me” - 4:33
5. “Monster” (featuring 50 Cent) - 5:04
6. “Best of Joy” - 3:02
7. “Breaking News” - 4:14
8. “(I Can’t Make It) Another Day” (featuring Lenny Kravitz) - 3:54
9. “Behind the Mask” - 5:01
10. “Much Too Soon” - 2:48

The first official single, “Hold My Hand”, is a duet with Akon recorded in Las Vegas in 2007. Co-writer Claude Kelly told HitQuarters that it was the song’s theme of friendship and togetherness that had struck a chord with Jackson. A handwritten note from Michael belonging to his Estate indicated his desire that “Hold My Hand” be the first single on his next project. However, in its unfinished state, the song leaked out in July 2008. Before the release, Akon stated that the final version would have more of Jackson’s vocals. The song was released globally on Monday, November 15.

There’s been a lot of discussion about whether or not the late singer’s estate is taking things a little too far!
One such opponent is Black Eyed Peas frontman will.i.am, who collaborated with the King of Pop, and he explains:

“I don’t think that should ever come out. That’s bad. He was a perfectionist and he wouldn’t have wanted it that way. How you gonna release Michael Jackson when Michael Jackson ain’t here to bless it? Now that he is not part of the process, what are they doing? Why would you put a record out like that? Because he was a friend of mine, I just think that’s disrespectful. What’s wrong with what he already contributed to the world? You don’t disrespect someone when they’re gone. … How much can you suck from his energy? … Freaking parasites!”

There’s controversy surrounding whether Jackson, who died last year, wanted the songs released, or whether some of the vocals on it are fake.
For fans who are still confused about the album, give it a listen before you judge. Simply buy it. You will be surprised. It’s Michael’s voice all the way! It will make a great Christmas present.

Album Information

Released December 10, 2010
Genre R&B, pop, soul
Length 41:33
Label Epic
Producer Michael Jackson, Akon, Giorgio Tuinfort, Teddy Riley, Tricky Stewart, Neff-U, Lenny Kravitz, John McClain, Brad Buxer, Angelikson

6 Responses to “Michael Jackson - Michael Album Review”

  1. robert Says:

    The only song of any redeeming value on the new MJ album is “Much Too Soon”….everything else is pretty much dog scraps.

  2. Reader Says:

    Not even the album is great I think it’s a good idea to continue his legacy for the kids to hear as well as die hard fans. Sure it isn’t as perfect as he would have made it but it’s a hell of a lot better than any other album out there right now. My favorite tracks are “keep your head up”, “monster” with 50 cent, and the second last track on the album produced by John McLain. That second last track actually does sound perfect as if it were what Michael would have completely envisioned.

    I love the album and recommend it to everyone. Don’t let the nay sayers tell u any different.

  3. Diana Says:

    I received the album as a gift for Christmas and have been listening to it ever since. The songs are great and beautiful and revealing at the same time.
    It is definitely Michael singing on the tracks and as Michael does he puts his heart and soul into every song.
    And as for those who say it is not Michael singing the track “Breaking News,” they obviously haven’t heard the song “1000 Watts” on his Invincible” album. He sings in the same low key. Michael had an incredible vocal range.
    I recommend you purchase the “Michael” album and judge it for yourself.

  4. Perks Says:

    Great album!

  5. Adam Says:

    awesome album!!

  6. Ben Says:

    Amazing album all the way !!!!!

    so many people have said that its fake or its man made ! WHATEVERRRR
    do you really think someone as popular and as prepared as MJ or as ELVIS or 2PAC would only have a limited amount of songs and then thats it ! c’mon people use you’re heads these people were professionals they would have 0 songs to chose from before writting an album !
    this album is simply great and we should simply be thankful to have somethink to remember MJ for what he was ! a great singer ,great performer ,but most of all an angel from above !

Leave a Reply