Natasha Bedingfield - Pocketful of Sunshine Album Review

Pocketful of Sunshine by Natasha Bedingfield, Album Review

Pocketful of Sunshine is the second North American album by English pop singer Natasha Bedingfield.
It was released by Epic Records on January 22, 2008 and received mixed reviews.

The album featured collaborations with Jamaican American rapper Sean Kingston and Maroon 5′s lead singer Adam Levine, and was influenced by hip hop music, electronic music, and reggae.
Most of the songs focus on love and relationships, as opposed to her debut album Unwritten, which dealt with independence and opportunism.

With a compilation of songs from her true sophomore album, N.B., only released in the U.K., and new work, Natasha Bedingfield serves up ‘Pocketful of Sunshine‘, a refreshing album that outshines her previous album by far.
Fans of Sara Bareilles and Colbie Caillat will delight over these songs.

Natasha Bedingfield Pocketful of Sunshine Album Cover

Natasha Bedingfield - Pocketful of Sunshine Track Listing

1. “Put Your Arms Around Me” - 3:43
2. “Pocketful of Sunshine” - 3:23
3. “Happy” - 3:40
4. “Love like This” (featuring Sean Kingston) - 3:42
5. “Piece of Your Heart” - 3:47
6. “Soulmate” - 3:34
7. “Say It Again” (featuring Adam Levine on backing vocals) - 3:32
8. “Angel” - 4:08
9. “Backyard” - 3:27
10. “Freckles” - 3:46
11. “Who Knows” -3:46
12. “Pirate Bones” - 3:52
13. “Not Givin’ Up” - 3:49

Here is a short review from

Whether you like her music or not, Natasha Bedingfield deserves respect. Her commercial accomplishments aside, this is one pop singer who truly serves as a role model for young girls. True, the lyrics are sometimes inane and overly sweet, but Natasha manages to keep it real and lead by example. After listening to this new album (which, in my opinion, is better than it’s European counterpart N.B.), I actually felt like my spirits were lifted. Most of this 13-track collection is so up-beat and sunny, I’ve become a little addicted to it. I can count at least 7 potential singles. The only song I’m not feeling is `Backyard,’ yet it’s still not a bad track. I would’ve liked to see `How Do You Do?’ and `No More What Ifs featuring Eve’ (both from N.B.) on this album. Otherwise, Bedingfield’s got a satisfied customer here. Just sing-a-long and feel the love, people.
By Adam Teak Lagowski

Pocketful of Sunshine debuted on the Billboard 200 albums chart in the United States at number three, selling 50,000 copies. The first week sales surpassed her debut album, Unwritten, which sold 34,000 copies its first week of release.
The album has become the second highest debut by a United Kingdom-signed female artist in Billboard history, after Joss Stone.

Natasha Bedingfield - Pocketful of Sunshine Album Info

Released January 22, 2008
Genre R&B, Pop, Soul
Length 48:09
Label Epic, Sony BMG
Producer Rodney Jerkins, Andrew Frampton, Steve Kipner, Wayne Wilkins, John Shanks, The Runaways, Toby Gad, J. R. Rotem, Patrick Leonard, Mike Elizondo, Greg Kurstin, Danja, Danielle Brisebois, Wayne Rodriguez

sources and

Leave a Reply