Dear visitor, Music Lovers Group is now part of Muzikum. Please read the announcement here

Sharleen Spiteri - Melody Album Review

Melody‘ is the debut solo album from Texas lead singer, Sharleen Spiteri. The album debuted at #3 in the UK Albums Chart.

Not only did Sharleen write the whole album, she also produced it, taking complete artistic control of its every sonic nuance.
Her first solo album is really excellent, very different from Texas, but she found a great new style.

Sharleen Spiteri Melody Album Cover

Sharleen Spiteri - Melody Track Listing

1. “It Was You”
2. “All The Times I Cried
3. “Stop, I Don’t Love You Anymore”
4. “Melody”
5. “I Wonder”
6. “I’m Going To Haunt You”
7. “Don’t Keep Me Waiting”
8. “You Let Me Down”
9. “Where Did It Go Wrong”
10. “Day Tripping”
11. “Francoise”

Editorial Review

Steeped in the sound and textures of ’60s Soul, ’50s Rock ‘N’ Roll and Doo-Wop, it’s an album that’s vintage in flavor yet utterly contemporary in spirit. Beside the new generation of retro-obsessed UK songbirds such as Amy Winehouse, Duffy and Adele, it’s a timely reminder that Sharleen was already dabbling in similar influences over a decade ago, be it Tamla Motown (’Black Eyed Boy’), Marvin Gaye (’Say What You Want’) or Elvis Presley (cross-dressing up as The King for 2001’s ‘Inner Smile’ video). Going solo has allowed her the freedom to indulge in such consuming passions even further, creating an album that proudly wears its influences on its sleeve.

Album Information

Released July 14, 2008
Recorded London, UK
Genre Pop, Soul, Jazz
Length 53:15
Label Mercury, Universal Music

sources and

Leave a Reply